Work at Home Teaching English Online With Qkids

Laptop sitting on a pink sofa
I make money on some of the products I mention on OnlineMomJobs.com through affiliate relationships. I never endorse a product or service unless I fully believe it will be of value to my readers.

Sharing is caring!

Are you looking for a work-from-home job that involves teaching English to Chinese students? If so, then this post is just for you. Qkids is a great opportunity that pays well and is incredibly flexible. 

If you live in the US or Canada and have a college degree or are attending a university, you may qualify to teach English online from home. Qkids is a platform that connects you with students in China, and they are always looking for teachers.

What is Qkids?

Founded in 2015, Qkids is an educational company that has quickly become one of the largest online education providers for children in China. The company is relatively young, but it already has four offices in China with many employees working to create great courses for Chinese kids.

Qkids is a unique platform that connects native English teachers in North America to Chinese kids ages 4 through 12.

Lessons are pre-designed, so teachers don’t have to spend time planning. Teachers connect with students via video chat and a virtual classroom with drawing tools, animations, games, and unique characters. 

Make an Extra $100+ Per Month for Free:
Earnably: Earn gift cards or PayPal cash to complete surveys and more.
GrabPoints: Earn money watching videos, completing surveys, downloading apps, and more.
Ibotta: Get paid to shop.
InboxDollars: Get paid to shop, complete surveys, and more.
InstaGC: Earn gift cards, or PayPal cash by taking surveys, shopping, and more.
RebatesMeEarn money for shopping. Get an instant $10 just for signing up.
Swagbucks: Earn gift cards, or PayPal cash by taking surveys, shopping, and more.  

Laptop sitting on a pink sofa for working from home

Education and Qualifications Needed

To get hired at Qkids, you will need to follow the specific requirements set for the application. 

  • Be a United States or Canadian citizen and legally eligible to work in either country.
  • Have at least a Bachelor’s degree in any subject.
  • Hold a teaching license or a language teaching certificate such as a TESOL, TEFL, CELTA. If you don’t have a language teaching certificate, you can obtain one here.
  • English must be your native language.
  • Required to upload your resume, a screenshot of your computer specs, availability, and a short video introducing yourself.

Technical Requirements

The technical requirements required for this position include:

  • Desktop or laptop computer with a webcam.
  • Stable, high-speed internet connection, preferably cable. 
  • The minimum upload speed must be 2Mbps, and the minimum download speed must be 4Mbps.
  • Quality headset with a microphone.

This headset is perfect for work-at-home jobs, making it easier to hear and be heard. The noise-canceling microphone picks up your voice loudly and clearly, blocking out background noise and letting you hear your students without distractions.

Work Schedules

Qkids is a Beijing-based company and is 12 hours ahead of the EST time zone. What this means is, depending on what time zone in North America you live in, you may need to wake up at 1:00 or 2:00 a.m. to get ready to teach your first class.

Morning slots are available all week long, but evening slots are only available on Friday and Saturday.

Here is a breakdown of their times.

Morning hours:

Summer
EST 6:30 – 9:00
CST 5:30 – 8:00
MST 4:30 – 7:00
PST 3:30 – 6:00
Hawaii 1:30 – 4:00

Winter
EDT 5:30 – 8:00
CDT 4:30 – 7:00
MDT 3:30 – 6:00
PDT 2:30 – 5:00
Hawaii 1:30 – 4:00

Evening hours:

Summer
EST 8:30 – 11:40
CST 7:30 – 10:40
MST 6:30 – 9:40
PST 5:30 – 8:40
Hawaii 3:30 – 6:40

Winter
EDT 7:30 – 10:40
CDT 6:30 – 9:40
MDT 5:30 – 8:40
PDT 4:30 – 7:40
Hawaii 3:30 – 6:40

Each class lasts 30 minutes, and you will have 1 to 4 kids in your classroom.

You can see your class schedule in the Qkids Teacher Software on Sundays every week.

All schedules are part-time, and you are free to choose the hours you wish to work as long as it’s within one of the above time slots.

Training

Training consists of trial classes, and you will teach at least two actual lessons with students. You will receive feedback from the families of those students.

You are paid the base rate for each trial class.

Pay and Benefits

Each lesson is 30 minutes long you will be paid $8 base pay. You are also paid $4 for each standby lesson (approximately 10 minutes with no teaching required).

The company also offers performance and attendance bonuses.

How much can you make with Qkids? With the base pay rate and incentives, you have the potential to earn up to $20 per hour.

All teachers are paid via direct deposit to their bank accounts, and Qkids covers any transfer fee. The company pays by the 15th of the month for any work completed the previous month. If the 15th falls on any Chines national holiday, the company will pay the following week. 

Since these positions are independent contractor jobs, the company offers no employee benefits.

Interested in Working for Qkids?

If you are interested in learning more or applying for a teaching job with Qkids, you can go here. If your app meets their requirements, you will hear from them within three business days.

View More ESL Jobs From Home

If you’d like to read about more companies like Qkids that hire ESL tutors and teachers to work from home, you can go here.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *